Friday, April 19, 2024
HomeLatestBreaking: Thomas Brima Rick Elected as 21st Chairman of WAEC Council

Breaking: Thomas Brima Rick Elected as 21st Chairman of WAEC Council

Ismail Abdulazeez Mantu, Reporting

During the 72nd Annual Council Meeting of the West African Examinations Council (WAEC), held in the Republic of Sierra Leone, Prof. Thomas Brima Rick Yormah was elected as the 21st Chairman of Council.

The announcement was made by Demianus Ojijeogu, the Head of Public Affairs at the WAEC Headquarters in Accra, Ghana, in a signed statement.

Prof. Yormah succeeds Prof. Ato Essuman from the Republic of Ghana. His election took place following a week-long deliberation by the WAEC Council members, highlighting the importance of this prestigious position in the educational landscape of the West African sub-region.

In his keynote address, His Excellency, Retired Brigadier (Dr.) Julius Maada Bio (GCRSL), represented by Vice President Dr. Mohamed Juldeh Jalloh, declared the meeting open and extended congratulations to WAEC on its 72nd anniversary. He commended the Council for its pivotal role in the educational development of the sub-region, emphasizing its contribution to educational reforms across member countries.

Hon. Conrad Sackey, the Minister of Basic and Senior Secondary Education, Sierra Leone, lauded WAEC’s consistent efforts since its establishment in 1952. He acknowledged the Council’s significant contribution to fostering quality education and maintaining educational standards in the region. Sackey emphasized the importance of eradicating examination malpractice and called upon all stakeholders to support WAEC in this endeavor.

Additionally, the WAEC International Excellence Award was presented to three Ghanaian candidates for their exceptional performance in the WASSCE for School Candidates, 2023. Master Amo-Kodieh Leonard Kofi clinched the 1st Prize, followed by Master Dzandu Selorm and Master Asenso-Gyambibi Daniel, who secured the 2nd and 3rd Prizes respectively. Master Amo-Kodieh Leonard Kofi was also honored with the Augustus Bandele Oyediran Award for the Best Candidate in West Africa, 2023.

Moreover, candidates from the Republic of Sierra Leone were recognized for their outstanding achievements. Miss. Mammah E. A. Raymonda and Master Bangura Joshua received the National Distinction awards, while Master Fillie Sahr Edward was bestowed with the National Merit Award.

The Council also conferred the Distinguished Friend of Council award on Prof. Jonas A. S. Redwood-Sawyerr for his remarkable contributions towards the attainment of WAEC’s objectives. Furthermore, Prof. Yatta Kanu was elected as the Vice Chairman of the Council for a one-year term, succeeding Dr. Ebrima Sisawo of the Republic of The Gambia.

The WAEC Council, serving as the governing body of WAEC, convenes annually in rotation among its five member countries: The Gambia, Ghana, Liberia, Nigeria, and Sierra Leone. Following the successful 72nd Annual Council Meeting hosted by Sierra Leone, Liberia is set to host the 73rd edition in March 2025, as per the invitation extended by Liberia’s delegation.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular